Ministry of Transportation and Communication

Public transportation services in the Arequipa Region are suspended. Press Release.

Six provinces in this region are at the extreme alert level due to the spread of COVID-19. The measure will start from Monday, June 21, for 15 calendar days.

MTC June 18, 2021 – 8:46 p.m.

As part of the prevention and control actions to prevent the spread of the Covid-19, the Central Government, through Supreme Decree N 123-2021 - PCM, has ordered the suspension of the services of transportation of persons of national scope from and to the Arequipa region, for 15 calendar days starting June 21. The measure applies to air, land and rail transport services.

The measure was agreed on in the Council of Ministers because of the large increase in cases of Covid-19 registered in that department, which forced the extreme level declaration to six provinces in that region: Camana, Caraveli, Castilla, Caylloma, Arequipa and Islay.

MTC urges citizenship to take precautions at home, respect health protocols, continue to protect oneself, and not let down your guard to prevent the spread of the virus. The Executive has been providing comprehensive support to better address this critical moment caused by the pandemic.